ADONAY “Lord, Master”

Genesis 15:2; Nehemiah 1:11; Psalm 54:4; 62:11-12; 86:15

The Hebrew word “adon” means “lord” in the sense of an owner or master.  It conveys respect.  In the plural form, Adonay always signifies God as Master or Lord.  Note its distinction “Lord” rather than “LORD,” which is how Yahweh is rendered in the Old Testament.

Abraham first referred to God as Adonay in Genesis 15:2, and over 300 times it appears in Scripture referring to God.  We see a relationship conveyed in the title Adonay: God s the Master, and I am His servant.

In our society we aren’t comfortable with referring to someone as a servant.  It is distasteful and demeaning.  However, when we look to Christ as the model, we come to understand that the greatest human being of all time (God incarnate!) laid down His very life for us all.  Jesus models service — willingly laying down one’s rights preferences, talents in order to lift another up.  All leaders need to be servants.  Jesus told his disciples, “The first must be last,” and blew their minds when He, the revered Rabbi, knelt to wash their feet.  (Mark 9:36 & John 13)

Of course, Jesus served the Father, doing only what the Father told Him to do. (John 5:19) The goal of my life is the same – submitting myself entirely to my Lord and Master, Yahweh Adonay, and allowing Him to completely direct my life.  How often have I said He is the Lord of my life, but I have not fully surrendered to Him in my heart?  Too many times to count!  Praise the Lord for the gift of repentance and for His forgiveness.  If I have truly made Him my Adonay, then I forfeit the right to choose; I forfeit my choice.  His choice and His will reign supreme.

This type of submission would be distasteful IF I did not understand the character of the One to whom I am submitting!  Not only did my Lord create the universe and everything in it, promise to lovingly care for me, exemplify sacrificial and unconditional love, but He also gave His life to pay a penalty I could never pay.  (John 3:16; 15:13)  He promises good plans for me (Jeremiah 29:11; Romans 8:28)  and says that I have the authority through His name to be victorious over any trial! (Romans 8:31, 38-39)  I am adopted as His child (Ephesians 1:4-6), lavished in His love (1 John 3:1) as well as His mercy and grace (Ephesians 2:8-10) and take on the identity as a daughter of the King of Kings! (Romans 8:16-18; Galatians 3:28-29)

Why wouldn’t I willingly submit myself to Adonay?

 

About sheilalloydlive

Woman after the heart of God through the vehicle of worship music. Wife. Mom. Sister. Friend. Come see life through my eyes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment