YAHWEH TSEBAOTH “Lord Almighty, The Lord of Armies, The Lord of Hosts”

1 Samuel 17:38-47

When this title for God is used in the Scriptures (more than 240 times), it is used to describe a God who has power, rule and reign over everything and everyone!  All of creation bows down in submission to Yahweh Tsebaoth.

Not only did He form the universe out of nothing, but He sustains it every second of every moment of every day.  “At times Scripture speaks of the Lord of Hosts leading a great army.  Cherubim and seraphim; sun and moon; stars and sky; rivers and mountains; hail and snow; men and women; animals wild and tame — all these worship the Lord and are at times called to fight on His behalf.”  (Names of God Bible, pg.364)

What immediately came to my mind as I was reading and meditating on this name/description of God was this:  Why in the world do I think I need to try to control things?  This Yahweh Tsebaoth who commands everything in all creation is also MY Lord, MY Father, MY Saviour.  He is my Yahweh Shalom (peace).  He is my Yahweh Ropheka (healer).  He is my Yahweh Nissi (banner).  He fights FOR ME!  The Lord promises to provide for me, protect me, forgive me, rescue me!  I am blown away by His character.  What an amazing God we serve — He serves us.  Thank you, Yahweh Tsebaoth.

The first occurance of the name Yahweh Tsebaoth in Scripture is by the boy David after killing the giant Philistine in 1 Samuel 17:38-47.  Remember the story?  The great and terrible Israelite army led by King Saul had gone into hiding, completely intimidated by a loud-mouthed giant.  When young David heard Goliath mocking Almighty God, he boldly faced him.  Displaying not only courage but also faith, David said, “I come against you in the name of Yahweh Tsaboath!”

I can picture Goliath looking at David and seeing a host of heavenly warriors behind him.  I need to remember that it is the same for me – and you if you are in Christ Jesus.  When the enemy of our souls looks at us, he sees that we are covered by Yahweh Tsebaoth, “a God so magnificent that all of creation serves His purpose.” (pg. 364)

Other Scriptures: Psalm 46:10-11; Psalm 84:12; Zechariah 1:3

About sheilalloydlive

Woman after the heart of God through the vehicle of worship music. Wife. Mom. Sister. Friend. Come see life through my eyes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

